1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2017 12:29 PM by Intel Corporation

Communicating with a new Intel NUC6i5syh

brit

I have just purchased a new NUC6i5SYH kit and installed:

Samsung 250GB SSD 850 EVO m.2;

Kingston 8GB HyperX DDR4

I now wish to start up the NUC to check the BIOS version, and then update as necessary before installing the OS. I am not sure whether I will use Windows 10, or LINUX at this stage, so want to update BIOS without OS.

This might sound like a total Newbie question, but how can I communicate with the NUC. I tried using a wireless Keyboard and mouse, but neither was recognised, so there was no way that I could "press F2" to enter BIOS.

Unfortunately I do not have access, at present, to a wired keyboard and mouse so cannot try that, but I did seem to remember reading somewhere that wireless can be used?

Any help on way to proceed would most welcome and appreciated.

• 1. Re: Communicating with a new Intel NUC6i5syh
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Thank you for joining the Intel® NUC communities.

In order to better assist you, I just wanted to confirm, what is the model of the keyboard and mouse?
          Are you using a wireless connection with a USB receiver or are you using Bluetooth?

Any further questions, please let me know.

Regards,
          Alberto R

• 2. Re: Communicating with a new Intel NUC6i5syh
            brit

Hi Alberto: Many thanks, the Keyboard I have been trying to use is a Logitech K340, and the mouse is also a Logitech, a  M310, using a USB receiver.

I also have a Logitech Keyboard K520 and M705 mouse which I use with my main PC, also with USB receiver. I must admit that I did not try this combination with the NUC, but I know that the K340 and M310 combination work, as I have recently used them on another system!

• 3. Re: Communicating with a new Intel NUC6i5syh
              brit