4 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2017 2:12 AM by tbnor

Accessing FCU through Ubuntu

tbnor

Hello,

I'm new to Linux, new to depth-cameras, saw my first Arduino 7 months ago - you get the picture.

My main focus is with ROS and naturally my preferred OS is Ubuntu. Ubuntu 16. And ROS Kinetic. Why don't people update? Not talking to only you guys, but all over the place, Igloo and Jade; why??

Long story shorty, I've wasted 30 hours of my life, before going over to Ubuntu 16 on the RTF. I expected the cameras to be inaccessible, but I cannot seem to localize the FCU itself - thus I cannot launch Mavros and the whole device is a waste of space at this moment. I've tried the normal combinations, ttyS1, 15000000 baudetc. I was wondering if I removed the FCU altogether while removing Yocto, but connecting telemetry through some old 3dr 433mhz' gets the job done and shows there is life...Extremely slowly, uselessly unreliable.

I'm wondering if I could solder a direct connect from the telemetry port to the OTG, but I don't know the wire-organization and it will become a hazzle to jiggle between that and keyboard/mouse/peripherals.

Is there any straightforward way to just get control of my ESC's, IMU's and GPS?

It's really a small order - given the price I've paid for this thing that seems to be able to do absolutely nothing. TBH it seems like someone has put in a real effort to make this look like an open development platform - while really being open for development only in Intel's explicit commercial interest...?

Sorry for the tone. I'm exhausted, I don't like quitting before I figure something out, so know I'm really ******.

• 1. Re: Accessing FCU through Ubuntu
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hi Tbnor,

Thanks for reaching out.

There is no need to apologize, if I were in your position, I would feel the same way.