6 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2017 3:35 PM by Intel Corporation

How to apply a patch for V_VBAT_BKUP

Snowmaniac80

Hello Edison Community,

I have been burning the midnight oil trying to change the charging voltage and current on the V_VBAT_BKUP pin of the Edison. I have found lots of great resources, but there seems to be some missing information that I need. I am an engineer, and not much of a programmer, but I have experience with Linux, BASH scripts, Python, and a little more. I have been diligently reading all the Yocto and Bitbake documentation, and have come to understand a fair bit... however not enough to get this figured out. So, any help here pointing me in the right direction will be deeply appreciated.

1. I am starting with the latest release of the Intel firmware for the Edison which I downloaded from here: http://iotdk.intel.com/src/3.5/edison/iot-devkit-yp-poky-edison-20160606.zip . That link is on the Edison Downloads page.
      2. I have successfully compiled and loaded an Edison image using that source.
      3. Back in 2015 for a different version of the Edison firmware some smart makers created a patch to do what I need and generously shared that here: Re: Edison RTC backup battery charging parameters (ideally I would like to use this solution)
      4. Also, Intel created a nice document for me to follow on how the change the V_VBAT_BKUP settings here: Change V_VBAT_BKUP Configuration on an Intel® Edison Board

My problem is, the solutions or 'recipes' as you might call them seem to be for other versions of the firmware... perhaps? That, and I am a bit short on having enough knowledge to make it work.

Discussion on patch file in Re: Edison RTC backup battery charging parameters: