4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2017 5:43 PM by Intel Corporation

Executing my Program at Board Startup & Deploying from Eclipse

MarkInTO

Greetings:

I am new to Linux and Edison. I have been new to a lot of things in the past but I can usually get going quickly and learn what I need to know as I go. It's been a little more difficult with this Edison board and tools. I have been groping around in the forums for a day or two now and I have seen variants of these two questions posted with no answer that seems to work, or perhaps I have missed something.

Q1:

If I have a simple program that runs "forever", what is the simplest way to get it to start when the Edison board is powered up?

Q2:

Can I deploy a C/C++ project onto an Edison from Eclipse? I ask because I read another thread which suggested that the only way to get an executable that you have developed using Eclipse to reside permanently on your Edison board is to "splice" the program into source files on your Edison and build it using GCC. Is this true?

Thank you,

Mark

• 1. Re: Executing my Program at Board Startup & Deploying from Eclipse
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your interest in the Intel Edison Platform.

We’d love to help you with your experience using the Edison board. Regarding your first question, if you want that your program runs every time your Edison boots, we’d recommend you to create a system service. Please, take a look at this link for more details: https://communities.intel.com/docs/DOC-111103.