3335 Discussions

Room scan of R200

TShim16
Beginner

Hey, guys

I am an engineer working in real estate information service (suumo) in Japan

Http://sumo.jp/

I am looking for ways to convert housing information to 3DObject

I tried matterport, it was good, but I am looking for cheaper one because it is expensive

In Japan, it is difficult to make data from CAD because 3D Cad data is also small

If someone has scanned the room using R200, please let me know

Also, please let me know about recommended videos, information

thank you for reading
0 Kudos
6 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

3D scanning of a room with RealSense was demonstrated by Intel in 2015.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vpa8vKsapFk Intel RealSense a project Tango demo IDF 2015 - YouTube

The demonstrator is scanning the room with a smartphone version of RealSense. This hardware was cancelled before it got a full release. A developer-kit camera for the type of camera the smartphone used, the ZR300, is still going to be released as far as I know (it was due out December 2016 but is running late).

Scanning a room with the R200 may be possible but a bit more difficult. As the R200 has a scan range of around 4 m, if it is in a stationary position then it may not be able to reach to every wall unless carried around like the demonstrator in the video was with his smartphone.

Some people have attached RealSense to a drone to perform scanning. The R200 is used on Intel drone kits such as Intel Aero.