Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14510 Discussions

control over Intel Turbo Boost technology ?

idata
Employee

Hi,

I intend to purchase a notebook having the new Core I5 processor on board and before making an order I need to choose amoung 3 frequency configs for the i5 processor (2.16-2.4GHz with different overboost options, +-100Euros)

At http://www.intel.com/support/processors/sb/CS-029908.htm http://www.intel.com/support/processors/sb/CS-029908.htm there is written:

How is Intel® Turbo Boost Technology enabled or disabled? 

Intel® Turbo Boost Technology is usually enabled by default by a switch in the bios where you can either enable or disable operation. Other than this, there are no user controllable settings to change Intel® Turbo Boost Technology operation either in the hardware settings or operating system. Once enabled, Intel® Turbo Boost Technology works automatically under operating system control.

I'm not an expert in that domain and I found this explainaition a bit confusing. Is the turbo boost mechanism enabled just by writing into some kind of processor control register (done by the BIOS at boot) and then the mechanism is working autonomously just using processor internal H/W resources ?

Or is there still some intervention of OS (Windows7, linux) needed to make the mechanism efficcient ? What exacty is meant by "operating system control" at the end of the explaination from Intel ?

Thanks in advance for your time!

Cheers,

Thomas

0 Kudos
4 Replies
idata
Employee