4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2017 9:41 AM by Intel Corporation

Send and Receive Data From Intel Edison and Sparkfun 9DOF Block Using WiFi

lewis-astbury

Hi, I am pretty new to the world of edison and i have been given a project that uses the Intel Edison and Sparkfun 9DOF, this allowing me to measure from the gyroscope and the accelerometer. The edison is currently sat on the Sparkfun Base Block followed by the Sparkfun 9DOF Board, the last piece to my stack is the Sparkfun 3.7V Battery Block, which allows it to be powered remotely. Using the provided libraries from sparkfun, i can wirelessly connect to the edison using the IoT Eclipse C++ platform and send the given program. This program starts the 9DOF board and displays the values back in the terminal in eclipse.

So, my problem is now, how can i used this data to be displayed in LabVIEW, reading various threads and forums i have come across a few examples where LabVIEW uses TCP/IP protocols to be able to read and write data over a network. Is this possible to send the data (preferably in real-time) wirelessly from the edison to LabVIEW? Or from Eclipse C++ to LabVIEW?

At the minute im really kind of stuck, and this project is being pushed upon me to get completed, so any real help, examples or knowledge will me much appreciated

Thanks, Lewis.    

• 1. Re: Send and Receive Data From Intel Edison and Sparkfun 9DOF Block Using WiFi
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hello lewis-astbury,

Thank you for interest in the Intel® Edison Breakout Board.

Applications and examples that help understand how to communicate your Edison board with LabVIEW are very difficult to find. 
          The only example I could find and that slightly resembles what you are trying to accomplish is here https://lavag.org/topic/19312-deploying-labview-to-intel-edison/.