1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2017 3:47 PM by Intel Corporation

Running a C program on an Edison Breakout board on power up.

monahanz

I have been unsuccessful in getting help in another section (Re: Uploading a final C program on an Edison Breakout board to run without Eclipse etc. ) of finding a solution to a simple issue.  I want to have a program written in C (with the Eclipse IDE) run on an Edison breakout board run each time on power up without any user interaction.

I'm a Linux newbie and I'm looking for a simple step by step example of how one would do this. This has got to be a common situation yet I see no detailed documentation.

Please see the above forum tread first for more info. Just pointing me to endless treads of previous treads going deeper and deeper is of no help.

Thanks in advance

John

• 1. Re: Running a C program on an Edison Breakout board on power up.
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hi John,

Thanks for your interest in the Intel Edison Platform.

In the thread Re: Uploading a final C program on an Edison Breakout board to run without Eclipse etc. they gave you the correct solution. In here you can find the original document: How to create a system service with systemd on Edison and Galileo’s eglibc image

I would recommend to do the system service for the blink example, then try to do your own system service.

I hope you find this information useful, have a nice day!

Best Regards,
          -Jose.

• 2. Re: Running a C program on an Edison Breakout board on power up.
            monahanz

Thanks for the fast reply Jose.

First I don't have a Arduino board to do the LED Blinker example. I have 6 Edison breakout boards.  I guess I will have to rig up a single LED/bit to emulate the example.