4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2010 11:42 AM by quietdragon

Hello... newbie questions (trying to boot up d510)

bvz

Hello,

I am completely new to the world of building a computer, but am a quick learner.  I purchased a d510 mobo and a picoPSU 60W power supply.

I want to start building the system but I have noticed a few things and I am completely stuck.  Pardons for the extremely basic nature of my questions.  Like I said, I have never done this before.  My issue is this: I have installed 2GB DDR2 memory (2x1GB sticks) and attached a VGA monitor and USB keyboard to the system.  I have plugged in the picoPSU to the mobo (but it is a 20 pin connector vs. the 24 pin connector on the mobo).  When I plug the unit into the wall, nothing happens.  No beeps.  No post screen.  Nothing.  I DO get a green led lighting up but that is all.

Here is my stupid question: Do I need to "turn it on"?  I do not have a case yet (and, in fact, will be building a custom one out of wood) and so do not have an on/off switch.  Does that mean I need to jumper pins 6 & 8 on the "front panel" group near the memory?  If so, can I just use a regular jumper for now till I manage to buy an actual switch?

Thanks for indulging me in this kinda dumb question

A second question would be regarding my PSU...  the picoPSU has a 20 pin connector, but the motherboard has a 24 pin connector.  I checked this thread: http://communities.intel.com/message/81568#81568 and it appears that I *should* be able to use this power supply with this system, right? The vendor which sold me the board also recommended the PSU to go along with it so I am partly basing my assumptions on that.

I intend to run the system headless with two 1TB WD Green drives, a USB thumb drive, and nothing else (freeNAS).  Is this PSU enough or should I return it and get a more powerful unit?  Energy conservation is the key here as the unit will be on 24/7.

Thanks!

Ben

• 1. Re: Hello... newbie questions (trying to boot up d510)