1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2016 12:32 PM by Intel Corporation

BIOS set up

kal1022

Hi, I am new to this chat,

So i just got the intel aero and have been working on setting up the board.

So far, I have botted the board with a usb image and are stuck on updating the bios step.

These are the steps on the git hub get started page,

BIOS firmware updates for the Intel Aero Compute Board, called “capsules” are distributed as “rpm” packages. The procedure to update the BIOS is given below.

Prerequisites:

• The Intel Aero Compute Board should already have a firmware flashed in it
      • OS is provisioned and boots to shell

Flash Capsule:

• Before you proceed, ensure md5sum of downloaded capsule is same as listed on Download Center. If md5sum differs, then DO NOT proceed to next step, as it may brick your board. Try downloading the capsule again or contact us to get help
      • style="margin-top:16px;margin-bottom:16px"
      • Install rpm:
      • root@intel-aero:~# mkdir temp
        root@intel-aero:~# mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 ~/temp
      • root@intel-aero:~# rpm -ivh <capsule-file>

Where I am confused and can't get through is, what do i have to replace <capsule-file> with? Also, do i have to but the capsule rpm. file that I downloaded from the intel download center on the same usb that I flashed the image to the emmc? Also Whenever I put the code,

root@intel-aero:~# mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 ~/temp

I get an error message saying

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1, missing codepage or helper program, or other error, In some cases useful info is found in syslog  - try dmesg | tail or so.

Just to be clear, I do not really have a background in coding or computers, I just saw the aero board as something really cool to use in my drone with the r200 camera so if you could please explain ever step very simply, I would very much appreciate it. Thanks!

• 1. Re: BIOS set up
          Intel Corporation