13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2016 10:47 AM by Intel Corporation

Joining the Bleeding Edge NUC6i7KYK

pdavitt

Well, I have decided to join the "Bleeding Edge" of technology.  My new NUC6i7KYK

should arrive this Wednesday.  I am a retired Senior Systems/Applications Architect and Oracle DBA, but it has been

a long time since I have been directly involved with PC's.  I will use my NUC primarily for photo post processing with Adobe CC and other PP applications.

I don't play games and am not interested in video work.  Hopefully I have made a good decision.

My configuration will be as follows:

Windows 10 Pro 64bit - Have already bought and downloaded (to a USB 3.0 stick) the OS image using Microsoft's Media Creation Tool.

Samsung 512GB 950 Pro M.2 NVMe (Boot Disk)

Samsung 1TB 850 Evo M.2 Sata

(2)Crucial CR16G4SFD821 16GB DDR4 2133 MHz SO-DIMM (32GB Total)

Dell KM714 Wireless Keyboard and Mouse

NEC NEPA272WBKSV 2560 x 1440 Wide Gamut Monitor

Connected with NEC Mini Display Port to Display Port Cable

For the initial setup I also have a Logitech LOMK120 USB wired Keyboard and Mouse.

Once the dust settles I plan to get a Thunderbolt 3 RAID enclosure.

I know this is after the fact, but does anyone see any problems with my choice of components?

Also, In reviewing posts to this forum, an Internet search, and the Intel support site I cannot find a detailed, definitive initial setup and

Windows 10 installation document.  Does such a thing exist?

I have already downloaded the BIOS updates and drivers.

Lacking further guidance, my setup steps will be:

1.  Install only 1 stick of 16GB memory in the lower socket which I assume is socket 0.

2.  Install only the 950 Pro M.2 NVMe drive in the center most socket which I assume is socket 0.

3.  Plug in the monitor, keyboard, and mouse.  Power up the monitor then

the computer.  Keep tapping F2 to get to the BIOS setup.

4.  Check the BIOS version and update to the latest (42), if required, using the F7 option.