3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2016 6:00 PM by FGT

How to compile C++ on Yocto Linux using terminal

Taric25

Excuse me if this has been asked and answered. I'm a student at UMass Lowell in Electrical & Computer Engineering. Our Microprocessors Professor is having us use the Gen 2 Intel Galileo, and we cannot seem to find how to compile C++.

Our project requires that we communicate to the Galileo using the serial USB cable and a terminal, such as PuTTY. In our last assignment, we read ADC values (from an external chip) and displayed them on terminal of the computer screen of a laptop connected via the serial USB cable. We used "cc" to compile our code. (As far as I know, gcc is not available in this distribution of this operating system.)

For our next project, we are supposed to use Open CV (Computer Vision) to write C++ code to control the provided webcam. The webcam installed at video0 under /dev/ correctly, but we still cannot figure out how to use any C++ compiler. How can we compile C++ on the Intel Galileo using the provided distribution of Yocto Linux using the serial USB cable?

screenshot_no_C_plus_plus.png

cxx_makefile.pngG

FYI, using g++ instead of cxx just locks the OS and does nothing. Using cc does not compile c++.

• 1. Re: How to compile C++ on Yocto Linux using terminal
          FGT

Hi Taric25,

I think the Linux development environment on the board is stable since some time ago. Take a look at the post by Paul.Guermonprez with a lot of material at Intel Courses on Galileo now available, and open source (including C and C++ code)

Just in case, I've tested gcc and g++ n my board and it looks like it's running fine:

root@galileo:~# gcc

gcc: fatal error: no input files

compilation terminated.

root@galileo:~# g++

g++: fatal error: no input files

compilation terminated.

root@galileo:~# gcc -v

Using built-in specs.

COLLECT_GCC=gcc

COLLECT_LTO_WRAPPER=/usr/lib/gcc/gcc/i586-poky-linux/4.9.1/lto-wrapper

Target: i586-poky-linux