2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2010 8:16 AM by DDFORSTER

INTEL Mother Board D915GSE Memory Upgrade Issue 2GB to 4 GB

DDFORSTER

I have a Gateway desktop 820GM. Gateway support docs say I can only upgrade to 2GB RAM. My Mother Board Specs (D915GSE) indicate I can upgrade to 4GB.  I pulled the following infromation using CPU-Z application. Since my computer is out of warrenty Gateway will not expound but only indicate that MAX MEM upgrade is 2GB. Talked to PNY and they indicate based on their investigation tells me this mother board will upgrade to 4 GB.  Recommend that I contact INTEL for specific procedures to make it work, i.e. BIO's, Chipset updates. Here I am.....Help please. I am a novice but am willing enough to attempt Flashing BIO's and update drivers. May require some detailed instruction from the masters out there that can point me in the right direction on how to do this properly and not kill my machine.

SPECS as follows:

COMPUTER Gateway, Model 820GN, Serial QLA4A01500389

Mother Board Intel D915GSE (AAC77843-103)

Chipset Intel i915P/i915G

Southbridge Intel 82801FB (ICH6)

LPCIO SMSC LPC47M182

BIO's Intel Version SE91510J.15A.1291.2004.0813.1804   Date 08/13/2004 (Note: I did check BIO's REV and it looked OK but that was through Gateway. Somewhat leary about their advice since it is dated 2004)

Processor Intel Pentium 4 530

Codename Prescott

Package 775 LGA

Specs Intel (R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHZ

PROBLEM:

I currently have 2 GB PNY DDR PC3200 RAM (1GBX2) 440/333/266 MHZ with Elixir Chips N2DS5128OBS-5T.

Installing new PNY 2 GB DDR PC3200 RAM Dual Channel KIT (1GBX2) 440/333/266 MHZ with PNY Chips 64X852QA4A/8-DJA.

System will not boot. Activity remains between my two DVD drives going back and forth between them. (Cannot even access SETUP (F2))

New Memory works fine by itself with old removed. Tried every type slot configuration mixing with the 4 x 1GB memory sticks. Tried using my 2 original plus just 1 new stick for 3 GB same problem.