2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2010 11:16 AM by ccLakia

Problem Upon Startup With My New Processor

ccLakia

I just bought a new processor for my computer, to be able to get better performance out of it. The only problem is when I start up my computer with the new chip in it, the fan becomes really loud and I get a blue screen of death. I have consulted several friends about it and they have told me it could possibly be problems that are occuring with the

• Power supply
      • BIOS
      • Operating System

I'm not sure what to do exactly, this is my first time ever purchasing a processor and installing it. I'm 100% sure I installed it correctly and my current processor is a Genuine Intel(R) CPU            2140  @ 1.60GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.6GHz. The one that I purchased is an Intel Pentium D 940 http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SL94Q According to my motherboard specifications http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00864946&lc=en&cc=us the two are compatible, but I don't know what to do. Here are the specifications on my computer if needed http://www.filefront.com/15403689/Lakia.txt It's a 64bit processor and I'm running on vista home premium 32bit. If you need to kno anything else just contact me.

My msn contact information is josherish@yahoo.com

If anyone can contact me or post here that would be greatly appreciated.Thank you in advance for your time

• 1. Re: Problem Upon Startup With My New Processor
          Cpt.Dogfruit

Ok, the first thing to do would be to update the BIOS. Do it with your "working" CPU in though.

Also at one point does it give you the BSOD exactly?

Then post back and let us know what happens.

It could also be your PSU, theres a bit of a jump between the CPUs in terms of power consumption. Have you tried unplugging all components taht are not necesary and then booting?

• 2. Re: Problem Upon Startup With My New Processor
            ccLakia