7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2016 12:56 PM by Intel Corporation

Problem using NUC6i3SYK USB Ports  When Restoring An Image

westguy

I used Intel's USB Creator utility to update my Win-7 Install USB Drive.  I was able to install Win-7 without any issues.  I have a fully configured Master System and now need to create an Image.  I used the BACKUP Function built into Win-7 to create an IMAGE - and I have burned a STARTUP/REPAIR CD.  I have the latest Intel Drivers and BIOS Version 44.

I have a USB CD/DVD Drive and I'm able to boot from it into STARTUP/REPAIR.  HOWEVER I cannot make any selections because suddenly neither my Mouse or Keyboard will work.

I similarly created a BACKUP Boot Drive under BACKERUPER.  Again the NUC boots, but as soon as the screen to initiate the backup appears, neither my Mouse or Keyboard will function.

I find it odd that the NUC5i3RYK, which ALSO ONLY HAS USB3.0 Ports, booted directly from the my original Win-7 Installation USB Drive.  And it's Ports under Win-7 behave as expected.

By contrast the NUC6i3SYK is a confused mess.  Why would it's USB3.0 Ports work any differently than those of a NUC5i3RYK???????????

My question is what do I do so I can use the BACKUP Capability built into Win-7 WITHOUT loosing use of my NUC6i3SYK USB Ports??   Please do not say "Use Windows-10" as that was roundly rejected by my client and his IT Department.

---- Dave Zeph

• 1. Re: Problem using NUC6i3SYK USB Ports  When Restoring An Image
          Gize2

The Intel USB 3.0 drivers are missing from the boot.wim in the sources folder of your startup repair disc.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/25476/Windows-7-USB-3-0-Creator-Utility?product=89186

https://downloadmirror.intel.com/25476/eng/Install-Win7-to-USB3.0-Computers-Readme.pdf