8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2016 1:30 PM by Intel Corporation

stepper library not Edison compatible ?

bennnn

Hi,

I am trying to run a stepper.h arduino library based sketch that compiles / runs well on arduino R3.

I can use any pins for the controller. Its not a shield.

I have Edison set to default PWM jumpers. Swizzling jumpers ? strange name

I have stepper library pins like this,

Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 3, 5, 6, 9);

I have this in void setup()

setPwmSwizzler(3,5,6,9);

Nothing,

I'm new to edison and this is my first try at running a sketch appart from blink which upploads and works.

I'm using the stepper.h arduino library.

Is there something i'm missing here? or am i beter off sticking with arduino R3 !

Is the Edison half Uno R3 compatible ?

ben

• 1. Re: stepper library not Edison compatible ?
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hi bennnn,

I've tested the Stepper.h library (the example stepper_oneRevolution) and it didn't work on Edison. I tested the same example with an Arduino UNO and it worked. It seems that the Stepper.h library is not compatible with Edison.

If you want to use a stepper motor I recommend you to check the following document, it's a shield testing report. You will find a test report using a motor shield that you could try to use in order to attach the stepper motor: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24342/Intel-Edison-Galileo-Galileo-Gen-2-Shield-Testing-Report

I hope you find it useful.

Regards,
          Diego

• 2. Re: stepper library not Edison compatible ?
            bennnn

Hi, thank you for the link to the arduino shields document.

I tried example 1 ( no library )  with the PWM jumpers as in example.

Arduino* Motor Shield R31

Nothing.. I have PUL+ PUL- DIR+ DUR- on the controller so this should work ?

I have used pin 3 & 11 for PUL +- and pins 5 & 10 for DIR+ DUR-

Is there a library I should try ? maybe the Adafruit one ?