11 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2016 10:55 AM by Intel Corporation

Problem installing Debian Stretch(Testing) on NUC5I5RYH

TicoJohn

I have been running Lubuntu for a couple of months and am in general very pleased with the NUC. However, I recently tried to install Debian Stretch from a USB device (I prefer Debian) and ran into a problem. On startup I see the Debian splash screen and am able to select the different options using the up/down arrows on my wireless keyboard (Logitec K400R). I can select the Graphical Install option and get to the next screen (Select Language). At that point the keyboard becomes totally unresponsive. I have read that there may be an issue with a BIOS setting whereby I need to set USB to a legacy mode. I just wonder why the keyboard would be okay at the splash (startup) screen but then become unresponsive. Is it more likely an issue with Debian or would it be a BIOS setting? I really don't want to do something that would cause problems with the Lubuntu installation.

By the way, I was trying to install the Debian OS to another USB device so as NOT to lose my existing Lubuntu installation.

As a side issue, when I have the NUC connected, via HDMI to my 43" Samsung TV I can NOT access the BIOS. Apparently this is a BIOS issue as it does not recognize the screen format. I would think that there would be a fallback mode to 1024x768. The TV specs say that it will work in that mode but I have no way to force that mode by user selection.

• 1. Re: Problem installing Debian Stretch(Testing) on NUC5I5RYH
          TicoJohn

Having thought about this some more, it would be really strange if the inability to install Debian Stretch were a BIOS problem. I mean, why would the problem exist with Debian and not with Lubuntu (no problems installing 15.10). So it must be a Debian issue. I did report the situation to the Debian developers but never received an answer. However, if anybody has a suggestion I would be happy to hear it.