4 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2016 9:56 AM by Intel Corporation

First Time Users. Questions -- batch 1

monahanz

I am a fairly experienced hardware user & software programmer.  This is my first time with the Edison however.

I am using the Breakout board – great hardware - but I find a lack of information for first time users on the web.

I propose to ask a number of simple questions on this forum that I think will help first time users get going.

OK let’s start with a few blatant ones…

1     Under windows when the breakout board is flashed an empty drive appears on windows. 

What is the function of this drive?

Can it be used to upload software to the breakout board?

2     Lots of talk about the Intel IDE for software developement.  Nowhere could I find how and where to download it to work with the breakout board (plenty for the Galelio). Nowhere is there an example of say, writing a c program to flip the voltage of one of the breakout board pins and uploading it to the breakout board.

3     Also plenty of write-ups about “bringing-up” WiFi on the breakout board.  In all cases they leave you at the point where you have a windows screen from the breakout board with the device name and IP address.  Nothing more! No URL line – nothing.  Where does the user go from there?

If this unit is to gain wide acceptance there needs to be better instructions for typical first time users to get going.  That is how/why Arduino devices got going so quickly.  Catering to just hard core long term programmers etc. will just not do it. Will be just another notchy product. Outstanding hardware (as this is) will not catch on without a ground swell of support.

Anyway I propose to be a typical first time user and start asking simple questions. More to come -- pending answers. Suggest others do the same.

John

• 1. Re: First Time Users. Questions -- batch 1
          monahanz

Will answer one of the questions myself.

I went to the SparkFun site