9 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2016 8:32 AM by Intel Corporation

Remote Control from Android Devices

SolarPaul

We will be doing some long journeys and the compute sticks look like a great way to have some real PC processing power with light weight. I am particularly interested in getting access to Lightroom and Photoshop (I am a serious enthusiast photographer) but these don't offer full functionality on Android devices.

I see that Intel have a Remote Keyboard App for Android but this doesn't appear to display the screen from the Compute Stick. It seems to assume that the units will be plugged into a TV or other device via HDMI. I would like to use my Android Tablet for display, keyboard and mouse for the Compute Stick, connecting over WiFI from the tablet's "Tethering & WiFi Hotspot" functionality. Is this possible with software from Intel (my preferred option) or will I need to look to 3rd party software?

Thanks in Advance

SolarPaul

• 1. Re: Remote Control from Android Devices
          Jean-Paul

Hi   SolarPaul

if you have a pro version of windows running You need the purpose built Android RD Client  (Remote Desktop Client) from Microsoft on the Google Play Store  If you are on windows 8.1 Bing /home, it doen't natively support remote connections (only on Pro ) but there are other apps on the play store and also check this thread it points to various third party apps  How to enable RDP in Windows 7 Home Premium? - Windows 7 - Spiceworks.   or google how to enable remote desktop in windowsXXX

Regards JP

• 2. Re: Remote Control from Android Devices
            SolarPaul

Hi Jean-Paul

Thanks for responding but I'm not sure it gets me to a working solution:

• I used RDP/RDC for several years for work and it was a great way to log onto office systems from home. I would be happy to use it here if it works over a local WiFi network (as against the internet)