4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2016 4:40 AM by arfoll

Interrupt Priority

lyfkyle

Hi,

Can Intel Edison handle multiple interrupts at the same time? if yes, how do I set the priorities?

For example, I have:

mraa_gpio_isr(gpio1, MRAA_GPIO_EDGE_RISING, &interruptHandler1, p1);

mraa_gpio_isr(gpio2, MRAA_GPIO_EDGE_RISING, &interruptHandler2, p2);

mraa_gpio_isr(gpio3, MRAA_GPIO_EDGE_RISING, &interruptHandler3, p3);

What will happen if interrupt2 occurs when InterruptHandler1 is executing?

Thank you very much in advance. I am quite new to Intel Edison and embedded systems, so forgive me if the answer is obvious.

Best Regards

lyfkyle

• 1. Re: Interrupt Priority
          Intel Corporation
          This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hello lyfkyle,

I have tested scripts that used more than one interrupt, however I would not recommend to activate them at the same time to avoid issues on the code. However, the documentation found in http://iotdk.intel.com/docs/master/mraa/classmraa_1_1_gpio.html does not mention if Edison can set priority for an interrupt above another.

arfoll, what do you think? Am I missing something?

Peter.

• 2. Re: Interrupt Priority
            Vincenze

The Linux kernel can handle multiple parallel interrupts coming from different GPIOs.

I don't know about mraa. I think it launches multiple threads that listen to interrupts independently.

There are usually two other problems if you connect a button and handle interrupts when the button is pushed.

1. You want to quickly handle multiple subsequent button pushes. Then the interrupt handler must be very short. It should set a flag and exit, then the main program should do something when the flag is set.

2. Button debouncing. One button push can trigger multiple interrupts. After the first interrupt, other interrupts should be ignored for the predefined amount of time like 50ms.

• 3. Re: Interrupt Priority
              lyfkyle

Hi Peter:

Thank you for your input.