13 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2016 4:46 PM by Intel Corporation

wifi Roaming - yocto vs Ubilinux

KyloRen

Hi everyone,

I reconfigured my Edison using latest Yocto and trying to figure out how to configure wifi roaming, since WPA_ROAM not available as it is on ubilinux what is the best way to setup the wifi?

I have multiple WPA SSIDs including home, mobile hotspot and school. This used to work great on ubilinux (aptosid Manuals - Setting up for WiFi Roaming) and wonderingif I have to reimage using ubilinux.

I am not a Linux expert so if there is a way to do this with wpa_supplicant or connman please let me know. Also at my son's school they have multiple APs per each classroom and we loose connectivity as he roams from one class to other. ifconfig wlan0 down and ifconfig wlan up not helping and the only way to connect is reboot.

I am clearly missing something obvious here, please help

• 1. Re: wifi Roaming - yocto vs Ubilinux
          KyloRen

as a hack was thinking about running a cron to check connectivity and if not connected do a wpa_cli enable_network and wpa_cli select_network vs ifconfig wlan0 down/up pair.

• 2. Re: wifi Roaming - yocto vs Ubilinux
            KyloRen

cat /etc/version

• 3. Re: wifi Roaming - yocto vs Ubilinux
              Intel Corporation
              This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation

Hi,

As you know the Edison doesn’t have the /etc/network/interfaces file in order to setup the roam feature for wpa_supplicant. You can create this file with
              mkdir /etc/network
              touch /etc/network/interfaces

And then add the configuration of the interfaces you want to have. Once you have done this you can use ifup and ifdown to control them or create a script that runs on boot managing the interfaces.Or you can try with https://www.debuntu.org/how-to-wifi-roaming-with-wpa-supplicant/