7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2012 7:23 PM by motch6

MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION BSOD, aka 0x0000009C loop, have narrowed down the problem to 1 factor (DP55KG board)

Chinch

Hi, everyone... I'm desperate for help here. I'm running an Intel DP55KG motherboard with an i7-860 processor. 4GB of memory, dual channel, running at 1333mhz. All multipliers and bus speeds are set to default values.

I have run into a brick wall, in that for days I could not get past a BSOD loop, with the MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION error, STOP code 0x0000009C. From what I have read this seems to be hardware related. The computer and everything in it is only 3 months old.

For my OS I'm running Windows 7 x-64 version. I have four hard drives, two of which are in RAID-0, the other two in standard single-drive mode.

After hours... and hours... of troubleshooting (I am a computer tech, so I tried all of the standard stuff already)... This BSOD was hardcore, it would BSOD trying to enter safe mode, recovery/repair mode... whether run from the HD or booted from rescue media, same result.

After pure luck (well, after a lot of time and troubleshooting), I realized that if I set my (4 core) i7-860 to use only 2 of the 4 cores, the error ceases to happen. Hyper-threading can be enabled without trouble... but as soon as I change it from 2 to ALL cores, back to the same BSOD.

I have run both the memory test utility provided with Windows 7, the original 'memtest', and memtest86+ -- with no memory errors after several passes. I have attempted to remove all extra PCI bus hardware, and dropped the 4GB (2x2GB) down to 1 stick, and exchanged them out, to eliminate it being a back stick -- same result... hard drives pass SMART tests. thermal values are within normal range (58c-62c thermal *margin*), with case temps being around 38 degrees at both board thermal sensors.