Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20493 Discussions

the 'Iris Graphics 540' and 'HD Graphics 520' are different graphic chip sets? The 'Iris Graphics' name should not be used with the 'HD Graphic 520' name?

MHans7
Beginner

I am looking for clarification on an Intel graphic chip set product name. I want to better understand which chipset is used in a particular product.

I am new to understanding how the graphic chip names are used to classify a product and how they differentiate graphic chip products.

When I looking at graphics hardware, I want to make sure I understand which Intel product is used in the device.

My examples are in the form of questions:

1. A product that specifies the 'Intel HD Graphics 520' chipset name, will not be using the 'Iris Graphics' chipset technology?

2. A product that specifies the 'Intel Iris Graphic 540' chipset name, should be using the 'HD Graphics' chipset technology?

3. If a product description specifies 'Intel HD Graphics 520' one should understand that this shipset is not the same as the 'Intel Iris Graphics' chipset.

The 'Intel HD Graphic 520' is not an 'Iris Graphics' chipset?

The 'Intel Iris Graphics 540' is not an 'Iris Pro Graphics' chipset?

Any help clarify this would be very much appreciated.

Thanks you so much,

Mark

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MHans7
Beginner

I know that using the terms 'chip set' is not accurate.

I know the 'HD Graphics' are not dGPU, that it is integrated into the cpu.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

Hi MarkOO7,

I try answering your questions; please let me know if that could help you.

1. A product that specifies the 'Intel HD Graphics 520' chipset name, will not be using the 'Iris Graphics' chipset technology? ---- R/ True, because they are different.