3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2016 5:10 PM by mark_h_@intel

Insight as to why Valgrind shows memory leak for LAPACKE_dgbsv

display_name

This is the first time I've ever used Intel's MKL LAPACKE and Valgrind. Unfortunately, I get an error with something I have little to no experience with. I could use some advice on how to cure a potential memory leak. I'm using Intel's MKL library, so I highly assume this issue is my fault, but I'm not exactly sure what to look for or how to debug the issue.

Here is my code (I'm not a programmer)

int NSUB,NSUPER,NDIAG;

double *BAND_MX, *SOL;

NSUB = 3;

NSUPER = NSUB;

NDIAG = NSUB + 1 + NSUPER;

// Intel MKL local variables

MKL_INT n = 50;

MKL_INT kl = NSUB;

MKL_INT ku = NSUPER;

MKL_INT nrhs = 1;

MKL_INT lda = 50;

MKL_INT ldb = 1;

MKL_INT info;

MKL_INT *ipiv;

// Solution array & Banded matrix

BAND_MX = (double*)calloc(M*(NDIAG+NSUB),sizeof(double));

SOL = (double*)calloc(M,sizeof(double));

ipiv = (MKL_INT*)calloc(M,sizeof(MKL_INT));

Then I add in a bunch of values into `BAND_MX`, which I believe isn't the issue. At the very least, the array would be filled with zeros. So I must be missing something else? Here is my call to the routine, where Valgrind has a breakpoint (line 127).

info = LAPACKE_dgbsv(LAPACK_ROW_MAJOR, n, kl, ku, nrhs, BAND_MX, lda, ipiv, SOL, ldb );

Valgrind output:

Multiple markers at this line

- 256 bytes in 1 blocks are possibly lost in loss record 5 of 12 [PID: 12922]

- Line breakpoint: LUx.c [line: 127]

- 32,928 bytes in 1 blocks are possibly lost in loss record 8 of 12 [PID: 12922]

- 32,928 bytes in 1 blocks are possibly lost in loss record 7 of 12 [PID: 12922]

- 80,160 bytes in 1 blocks are possibly lost in loss record 10 of 12 [PID:

12922]

- 69,664 bytes in 1 blocks are possibly lost in loss record 9 of 12 [PID: 12922]

- 320,160 bytes in 1 blocks are possibly lost in loss record 12 of 12 [PID:

12922]